the first 5 minutes of any new ride are critical

Patspeedy

the first 5 minutes of any new ride are critical

Post by Patspeedy »

As a newbie I am only getting to grips with AP so sorry if this question has been covered before

Question is after the calibration ride has been stored on a previous day ,what is classed as (the first 5 minutes of any new ride are critical) if I stop for 15mins to alter bike every so often on same day and ride again testing does the 5mins have to be done again every break or only at start of every a days session of testing ??? Thanks in advance
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO

Re: the first 5 minutes of any new ride are critical

Post by Velocomp »

Whenever a new ride file is started, for the first 5 minutes after the new ride the accelerometer calibration is checked.

In general, a new ride file is started whenever the unit goes to sleep. Going to sleep happens when the device does not see speed signals for an extended period of time, about 12 minutes, AND you don't click its button (to keep it awake). If you click its button the 12 minute "turn-off clock" is reset

If you stop for 15 minutes and don't click your AP button it's likely that your unit has gone to sleep. You will need to ride 5 minutes to recalibrate the accelerometer, and you'll see two ride files...

If you want to avoid this potential problem, periodically click your AP button during your rest break.
John Hamann
Patspeedy

Post by Patspeedy »

Thank you for a quick and clearly explained information much appreciated , do you think in a future update that it would be possible to select a users own sleep time as that would be very useful to a lot of people ??
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO

Post by Velocomp »

Any time a feature is added or changed, the people who want it will be delighted...and everyone else will be confused. :D