AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

agud
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2019 3:07 am

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by agud » Tue Aug 20, 2019 8:15 am

Hello I had install AeroPod connect IQ on my garmin 520 , i can see it on the folder apps on my iMac , but not when i start my 520 i can not see it

can you help me??

thanks

mir
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2019 5:43 am

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by mir » Tue Aug 20, 2019 11:24 am

It is only available as a data field which can be added to an activity screen.

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 6410
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by Velocomp » Tue Aug 20, 2019 4:39 pm

agud wrote:
Tue Aug 20, 2019 8:15 am
Hello I had install AeroPod connect IQ on my garmin 520 , i can see it on the folder apps on my iMac , but not when i start my 520 i can not see it

can you help me??

thanks
Please refer to pages 8-11 of the instructions, which tell you how to set up a CdA screen in your Garmin.
Attachments
AeroPod_ConnectIQ_073119.pdf
(2.45 MiB) Downloaded 49 times
John Hamann

DaveQB
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 11:13 pm

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by DaveQB » Thu Sep 05, 2019 12:31 am

Hi Velocomp,

How do we ensure we have the current Connect IQ App? Is the first post in this thread regularly updated with a link to the current version? It looks like it's currently a year old.

Thank you.

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 6410
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by Velocomp » Thu Sep 05, 2019 1:01 am

DaveQB wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 12:31 am
Hi Velocomp,

How do we ensure we have the current Connect IQ App? Is the first post in this thread regularly updated with a link to the current version? It looks like it's currently a year old.

Thank you.
It is the most current version. If there is an update we will update the link.
John Hamann

DaveQB
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 11:13 pm

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by DaveQB » Thu Sep 05, 2019 1:11 am

Velocomp wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 1:01 am
It is the most current version. If there is an update we will update the link.
Great. Thank you.

syll1914
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:27 pm

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by syll1914 » Tue Sep 17, 2019 9:30 pm

garmin made a update and now I can t see slope/wind...what can I do?

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 6410
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by Velocomp » Tue Sep 17, 2019 11:52 pm

syll1914 wrote:
Tue Sep 17, 2019 9:30 pm
garmin made a update and now I can t see slope/wind...what can I do?
Please be more specific about what Garmin did...
John Hamann

syll1914
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:27 pm

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by syll1914 » Wed Sep 18, 2019 1:44 pm

Velocomp wrote:
Tue Sep 17, 2019 11:52 pm
syll1914 wrote:
Tue Sep 17, 2019 9:30 pm
garmin made a update and now I can t see slope/wind...what can I do?
Please be more specific about what Garmin did...
after last update 8.0 which I made it yesterday ( for garmin edge 1030) i could see just power...in rest, just lines , like the aeropod was off...tried to reconnect, make a new screen..but nothing

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 6410
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by Velocomp » Thu Sep 26, 2019 10:09 am

syll1914 wrote:
Wed Sep 18, 2019 1:44 pm
Velocomp wrote:
Tue Sep 17, 2019 11:52 pm
syll1914 wrote:
Tue Sep 17, 2019 9:30 pm
garmin made a update and now I can t see slope/wind...what can I do?
Please be more specific about what Garmin did...
after last update 8.0 which I made it yesterday ( for garmin edge 1030) i could see just power...in rest, just lines , like the aeropod was off...tried to reconnect, make a new screen..but nothing
I have ordered a 1030 and will provide an update soon.
John Hamann

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 6410
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by Velocomp » Sat Sep 28, 2019 5:07 am

syll1914 wrote:
Wed Sep 18, 2019 1:44 pm
Velocomp wrote:
Tue Sep 17, 2019 11:52 pm
syll1914 wrote:
Tue Sep 17, 2019 9:30 pm
garmin made a update and now I can t see slope/wind...what can I do?
Please be more specific about what Garmin did...
after last update 8.0 which I made it yesterday ( for garmin edge 1030) i could see just power...in rest, just lines , like the aeropod was off...tried to reconnect, make a new screen..but nothing
Problem solved: see here:

https://velocompforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=98&t=5274
John Hamann

xophe
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 7:27 am

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by xophe » Sun Oct 06, 2019 12:21 am

Hello,
Is the Connect IQ app compatible with the Garmin 935 watch? If yes, can someone share a screen picture?
Thanks
Christophe

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 6410
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by Velocomp » Sun Oct 06, 2019 7:06 am

Garmin lists the 935 on their website as a ConnectIQ compatible device, so you should be OK.

https://developer.garmin.com/connect-iq ... e-devices/
John Hamann

xophe
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 7:27 am

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by xophe » Sun Oct 06, 2019 3:39 pm

How it is possible to display the same fields on a watch than on a bike device?
The Garmin 935 can only display 4 data.

Image

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 6410
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by Velocomp » Sun Oct 06, 2019 4:09 pm

AeroPod CdA data is only one field.
John Hamann

reiskayser
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 11:19 pm

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by reiskayser » Wed Oct 09, 2019 2:33 pm

Hi John, back to the 1030, I have carefully made 3 attempts to solve the v.8 update problem to get the CdA screen to go live (no dashes) including resets on both devices and still only get power. Have other been successful with your fix? Do you have any other suggestions? Thanks, Reis

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 6410
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by Velocomp » Wed Oct 09, 2019 3:22 pm

Did you do this?

https://velocompforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=98&t=5274

Are you sure your AP is "on" (shows solid green when button is clicked)?
John Hamann

reiskayser
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 11:19 pm

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by reiskayser » Wed Oct 09, 2019 4:08 pm

Yes

reiskayser
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 11:19 pm

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by reiskayser » Wed Oct 09, 2019 4:09 pm

I get a power reading

reiskayser
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 11:19 pm

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by reiskayser » Wed Oct 09, 2019 4:32 pm

Also, the power reading seems to work fine.

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 6410
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by Velocomp » Wed Oct 09, 2019 8:37 pm

Sorry, I have nothing to add. This is a Garmin problem.
John Hamann

EHB
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 5:52 pm

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by EHB » Thu Jan 09, 2020 1:50 pm

Do you happen to know if it requires a USB connection to the device? My forerunner 735XT is very temperamental about connecting over USB, but connects to the Garmin phone app over Bluetooth fine. My Garmin account has the watch registered, it just doesn’t appear in the ‘Garmin Express’ app much.

What does connect well is an Edge 530, but that isn’t in the list of devices it works on, even though it has connect IQ and the model earlier (520) is listed. Don’t know what is going on there. Thought it would be added by now.

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 6410
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by Velocomp » Thu Jan 09, 2020 6:21 pm

Installing the ConnectIQ app requires that your Garmin device appears as a USB drive.

I know this works for traditional Garmin bike computers but I don't know about the watch, and how it connects to the computer.
John Hamann

EHB
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 5:52 pm

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by EHB » Thu Jan 09, 2020 7:14 pm

Sod. The watch is flakey over USB. Do you think it can be installed on an Edge 530? It’s very similar to a 520 and always appears via USB.

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 6410
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by Velocomp » Fri Jan 10, 2020 5:50 am

EHB wrote:
Thu Jan 09, 2020 7:14 pm
Sod. The watch is flakey over USB. Do you think it can be installed on an Edge 530? It’s very similar to a 520 and always appears via USB.
I'm guessing that it will work on the 530.
John Hamann

EHB
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 5:52 pm

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by EHB » Fri Jan 10, 2020 11:43 am

I did an experiment last night before your reply & I think you guess right. I created a new profile called TT on it and followed your instructions. It seems to have worked, but unfortunately I can’t test it as my one bike with a DFPM has no brakes currently. I removed them to hide them from the sweat I generate indoors. If I cycle indoors and put it in front of a fan will it show numbers?

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 6410
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by Velocomp » Sat Jan 11, 2020 6:43 am

EHB wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 11:43 am
I did an experiment last night before your reply & I think you guess right. I created a new profile called TT on it and followed your instructions. It seems to have worked, but unfortunately I can’t test it as my one bike with a DFPM has no brakes currently. I removed them to hide them from the sweat I generate indoors. If I cycle indoors and put it in front of a fan will it show numbers?
It worked on the watch, or the 530?

You will see small variations of slope and wind speed on your indoor trainer.
John Hamann

EHB
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 5:52 pm

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by EHB » Sun Jan 12, 2020 11:36 am

On the 530. Given up on connecting the watch via usb with this firmware.

I thought of a problem with my plan of testing it by putting in front of a fan though: the cal ride.

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 6410
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: AeroPod CdA Connect IQ app for Garmin

Post by Velocomp » Sun Jan 12, 2020 12:16 pm

EHB wrote:
Sun Jan 12, 2020 11:36 am
On the 530. Given up on connecting the watch via usb with this firmware.

I thought of a problem with my plan of testing it by putting in front of a fan though: the cal ride.
I'm not sure what you are trying to accomplish. If it is simply seeing if your ConnectIQ app is working, then leave AP set to an existing, calibrated outdoor profile, and ride on your trainer. The power numbers will be garbage but you should see changing slope and wind.
John Hamann

Post Reply