TT bike mounting

John
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:07 pm

Re: TT bike mounting

Post by John » Fri Dec 21, 2018 9:30 pm

The first picture is a top view close-up of the stem and aerobar extensions. The second a stock photo of the bullhorn handlebar. I know this is old-school stuff. I am not the original owner of the bike, a 2009 Cervelo P3. I am not sure how wide the mount is that comes with the aeropod. Could it fit between the aero-bar extensions and the stem? The handlebars are Easton Deltaforce with Easton Aeroforce carbon extenstion bars.
The attachment IMG_2018-12-21_18-26-51.JPG is no longer available
IMG_2018-12-21_18-26-51.JPG
IMG_2018-12-21_18-26-51.JPG (54.27 KiB) Viewed 626 times

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 5793
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:43 am

Re: TT bike mounting

Post by Velocomp » Sat Dec 22, 2018 3:29 pm

Only 1 image was posted. Please post the other one.
John Hamann

John
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:07 pm

Re: TT bike mounting

Post by John » Mon Dec 24, 2018 10:37 am

Here is the stock image I mentioned. I will post other pictures of the handlebar and extensions later. Could a mount like the Newton Dual be designed for the AeroPod? Even better, a mount that used the same idea as a hose clamp but the band would be flexible enough to mold around any shape.
bullhorn.jpg
bullhorn.jpg (12.23 KiB) Viewed 610 times

BillOsler
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 10:10 am

Re: TT bike mounting

Post by BillOsler » Mon Dec 24, 2018 11:03 am

How much room is there between the extensions and the stem?
Alternatively how much room is there on the round section of the base bar on the outside of the extension?
I don't have calipers to get an exact measurement but all of the mounts I checked are about 3/8" (~9.5 mm) wide.
What I ended up using on my TT bike was a K-Edge K13-420: https://k-edge.com/shop/light-and-actio ... r-mount-2/
That K-Edge mount places the Aeropod well in front of the base bar, about the same distance as the Velocomp TT mount, but the mounting method is different since the Velocomp mount attaches via the bolts on the bottom of the extension mount if the extension mount uses 2 bolts.

trpnhntr
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 7:18 pm

Re: TT bike mounting

Post by trpnhntr » Mon Dec 31, 2018 8:41 pm

I also have a Speed Concept and an (apparently useless to me) TT mount.

My plan had been:

Take my existing TT bike computer mount (I race with a Wahoo Element Bolt) which is this https://k-edge.com/shop/computer-mounts ... -tt-mount/

Buy this piece https://k-edge.com/shop/computer-mounts ... interface/

Use that for whenever I wanted to throw my Garmin and AeroPod onto the TT bike to do some Aero testing.

Because the speed concept has fully integrated aero bars I don't think the concerns about movement should be too severe and I plan to mount it at the very base of the bars so it will be level and see minimal play.

Does that seem viable?

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 5793
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:43 am

Re: TT bike mounting

Post by Velocomp » Mon Dec 31, 2018 8:48 pm

trpnhntr wrote:
Mon Dec 31, 2018 8:41 pm
I also have a Speed Concept and an (apparently useless to me) TT mount.

My plan had been:

Take my existing TT bike computer mount (I race with a Wahoo Element Bolt) which is this https://k-edge.com/shop/computer-mounts ... -tt-mount/

Buy this piece https://k-edge.com/shop/computer-mounts ... interface/

Use that for whenever I wanted to throw my Garmin and AeroPod onto the TT bike to do some Aero testing.

Because the speed concept has fully integrated aero bars I don't think the concerns about movement should be too severe and I plan to mount it at the very base of the bars so it will be level and see minimal play.

Does that seem viable?
We do not recommend using any mount that attaches to aero bar extensions. Aerobars flex, and that creates undesirable variation for AeroPod.

Please email technicalsupport@velocomp.com We have a solution for Speed Concept that works and that is very unobtrusive.
John Hamann

trpnhntr
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 7:18 pm

Re: TT bike mounting

Post by trpnhntr » Mon Dec 31, 2018 9:10 pm

I will email them.

I'm hoping to have something that isn't permanently affixed to the bike (I read above about a glue based solution) as I want to use my AeroPod to minimize my aerodynamic profile and anything unnecessary on race day is a bit counter to that mission

evokesiron
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2018 12:00 am

Re: TT bike mounting

Post by evokesiron » Wed Jan 23, 2019 5:19 pm

Thought I'd post some pics in case it helps anyone..

I ended up using the Garmin mount on the bottom of my stem (the curvature was flatter than the aerobars, and so fit better with the mount). After unclipping the AP along with the Garmin mount, the remaining piece on the stem is quite minimal. Could remove it if I cared enough, but I don't forsee that happening :). And it will be nice to be able to just clip the AP back on if I want to do some testing later.

Image

Image

Image

Unmounted:
Image

Image
Last edited by evokesiron on Wed Jan 23, 2019 5:50 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 5793
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:43 am

Re: TT bike mounting

Post by Velocomp » Wed Jan 23, 2019 5:23 pm

This looks nice! I think you have more than one image, and the image you posted needs to be rotated...
Attachments
IMG_0185.jpg
IMG_0185.jpg (201.34 KiB) Viewed 499 times
John Hamann

evokesiron
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2018 12:00 am

Re: TT bike mounting

Post by evokesiron » Wed Jan 23, 2019 5:31 pm

Yeah, issues with the attachments coming through as desired (it decided to rotate the images and dropped a couple). Went with hosting site and modified my post, so take a look now..

quantus
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 7:55 am

Re: TT bike mounting

Post by quantus » Sun Jan 27, 2019 5:05 pm

Where is the sweetspot for position of Aeropod? Which distance is optimal to Tyre and Bar?
20190127_125942.jpg
20190127_125942.jpg (99.59 KiB) Viewed 479 times
Attachments
20190127_125926.jpg
20190127_125926.jpg (77.34 KiB) Viewed 479 times
20190127_130014.jpg
20190127_130014.jpg (112.83 KiB) Viewed 479 times

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 5793
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:43 am

Re: TT bike mounting

Post by Velocomp » Sun Jan 27, 2019 9:05 pm

This is a very nice setup, assuming your bolt extensions don't allow the mount to flex... :-)

Obviously, you don't want the pitot tube directly behind your hands or your cables (your setup accomplishes both). Other than that, the purpose of the calibration ride is to customize AeroPod settings to the exact location on the bike. In that sense, there is no optimal position.
John Hamann

quantus
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 7:55 am

Re: TT bike mounting

Post by quantus » Mon Jan 28, 2019 7:13 pm

Ok. Then I can wait for sun to go out. 8-)
Thanks

Guido_K
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 8:40 am

Re: TT bike mounting

Post by Guido_K » Fri Mar 15, 2019 3:57 am

Hey,
after reading the revised instructions for firmware 7.06 I think I need to check my setup since my AP is attached to my aerobars. However, it is rather close to the massive alloy sleeves connecting the extensions to the also rather massive base bar. So I hope this setup is still fine.

The mount itself is aluminium and attached by epoxy resin and screws into the extension.

Thank you,

Guido
P1030951.JPG
P1030951.JPG (146.55 KiB) Viewed 321 times

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 5793
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:43 am

Re: TT bike mounting

Post by Velocomp » Fri Mar 15, 2019 6:40 am

We strongly recommend against attaching AP to aerobar extensions, even when the underlying AP mount is stiff.

The reason is that most bars flex, which causes problems with AP slope readings.

Slope is a very important measurement in getting best-quality CdA readings. AP can resolve slope differences as little as 0.05%. To give you an idea of just how "sensitive" this is, here is a bike riding on a "road" with 0.0% slope--completely flat. After riding 1000 feet (right side of plot) the the elevation has changed by 0 feet:
bike on 0% grade.png
bike on 0% grade.png (116.37 KiB) Viewed 319 times
Now, here is the same plot, this time with a 0.1% slope--twice the difference that AP can detect. After traveling 1000 feet the elevation "climbed" is just one foot!
bike on 0.1% grade.png
bike on 0.1% grade.png (100.53 KiB) Viewed 319 times
No cyclist can physically detect a 0.1% slope difference, but AP can. AP's sensitivity is why you can't have any flex in the AP mount.

Your bars look pretty stiff, but this is just an impression...

Do a short ride, where you ride on a straight road for the first 5 minutes. While riding try to flex your bars during the first 5 minutes of the ride, as you might do when moving from hoods to TT position, or pulling on the bars in a sprint.

Post the ride file and I'll take a look...
John Hamann

Guido_K
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 8:40 am

Re: TT bike mounting

Post by Guido_K » Tue Apr 02, 2019 5:57 am

Hey John,
sorry for the long delay, I was simply busy at work.

Please find attached the two ibike files my aeropod produced during calibration and the requested short ride afterwards.

My CdA on the basebar was about 0.19 and in the aero position 0.18. Both a little low - or I missed my profession. It is a rather calm day. Eyeballing, the wind speed looked right, perhaps also a little high.

Please let me know if I need to move my aeropod. I have to note, the only feasible alternative solution is to move it closer to the junction with the base bar reducing the leverage of any vibrations.

Thank you,

Guido

P.S.: I might have missed it, is there a way to switch the Connect IQ CdA app from miles to km?
Attachments
QR_Tri_Bike_10_08_2018_0017_3_km.ibr
(22.72 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
QR_Tri_Bike_10_08_2018_0024_11_km.ibr
(141.58 KiB) Downloaded 4 times

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 5793
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:43 am

Re: TT bike mounting

Post by Velocomp » Tue Apr 02, 2019 12:11 pm

Guido_K wrote:
Tue Apr 02, 2019 5:57 am
Hey John,
sorry for the long delay, I was simply busy at work.

Please find attached the two ibike files my aeropod produced during calibration and the requested short ride afterwards.

My CdA on the basebar was about 0.19 and in the aero position 0.18. Both a little low - or I missed my profession. It is a rather calm day. Eyeballing, the wind speed looked right, perhaps also a little high.

Please let me know if I need to move my aeropod. I have to note, the only feasible alternative solution is to move it closer to the junction with the base bar reducing the leverage of any vibrations.

Thank you,

Guido

P.S.: I might have missed it, is there a way to switch the Connect IQ CdA app from miles to km?
You should upgrade to 7.06. Please email technicalsupport@velocomp.com for the FW.

What DFPM are you using? If it reads low that will force CdA down.

At this time there is not a way to change ConnectIQ to KM.
John Hamann

Guido_K
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 8:40 am

Re: TT bike mounting

Post by Guido_K » Wed Apr 03, 2019 6:58 am

Hey John,
thank you, I got the firmware this morning and had the opportunity for a short ride this evening.

Please find the ride files attached. As advised, I tried to be rather "lively" on the bike like sprints and in/out off the aero position. Near the end of the ride is also a section of rather rough road surface, I hope that helps.

Regarding the low CdA, I think I forgot to zero my powermeter. I did it today and the CdA looks much different. My powermeter is a crank based avio powersense. I also got a powertap wheel if required.

Thank you for your help,

Guido
Attachments
Archive.zip
(129.47 KiB) Downloaded 2 times

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 5793
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:43 am

Re: TT bike mounting

Post by Velocomp » Wed Apr 03, 2019 1:03 pm

Your CdA is in the .265 range...very reasonable now.

It's important to have a calibrated DFPM!
John Hamann

Guido_K
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 8:40 am

Re: TT bike mounting

Post by Guido_K » Wed Apr 03, 2019 6:07 pm

I read this that we don't have any problem with flexing of the aerobars? That would be great.

Cheers,

Guido

Post Reply