PP suddenly totally wonky

Post Reply
Speedyg
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:35 am

PP suddenly totally wonky

Post by Speedyg »

Did a usual ride in Central Park today and PP had not responded at all two weeks ago but I kept it plugged in and rode 12mi 3/15 with normal power curves except for way high at the beginning (850W just for a minute or so) then everything seemed normal. Today in the first 6 mi lap seemed really low and went to 0 a few times then sauntered up to 35W at a point when I can tell you I was putting out 120-140, and kept wildly oscillating. I stopped and pressed the button for 12 sec and started again and the next ride gave me a date of 12/10/22 and again very wonky drifts but some hill climbs where power looked relatively real. I think the device is somehow cooked. Here are the two files. What's your next step advice. You've always been helpful, and I've been a loyal PP user since the start.
Velocomp_12_10_2022_0001_10_Miles_HiDef.ibr
(336.19 KiB) Downloaded 113 times
Velocomp_03_31_2024_0816_0_Miles_HiDef.ibr
(88.79 KiB) Downloaded 101 times
Speedyg
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:35 am

Re: PP suddenly totally wonky

Post by Speedyg »

I neglected to add that although the rides are recorded in HiDef for PStroke, Isaac is not giving me Pstroke readings on these two rides though it has on all my previous rides. Something is gravely wrong. If the device is toast and there is a easy on the wallet path to upgrade as trade in I'd do it!

Best,

Jim
Speedyg
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:35 am

Re: PP suddenly totally wonky

Post by Speedyg »

Looks like cadence wasn't recorded -- no idea why. Cadence meter is on and has been working fine.
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 7845
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: PP suddenly totally wonky

Post by Velocomp »

Speedyg wrote: Sun Mar 31, 2024 3:23 pm Looks like cadence wasn't recorded -- no idea why. Cadence meter is on and has been working fine.
If cadence isn't recorded then PS won't work.

I would check/replace the battery in your cadence sensor.
John Hamann
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 7845
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: PP suddenly totally wonky

Post by Velocomp »

Speedyg wrote: Sun Mar 31, 2024 2:35 pm Did a usual ride in Central Park today and PP had not responded at all two weeks ago but I kept it plugged in and rode 12mi 3/15 with normal power curves except for way high at the beginning (850W just for a minute or so) then everything seemed normal. Today in the first 6 mi lap seemed really low and went to 0 a few times then sauntered up to 35W at a point when I can tell you I was putting out 120-140, and kept wildly oscillating. I stopped and pressed the button for 12 sec and started again and the next ride gave me a date of 12/10/22 and again very wonky drifts but some hill climbs where power looked relatively real. I think the device is somehow cooked. Here are the two files. What's your next step advice. You've always been helpful, and I've been a loyal PP user since the start.Velocomp_12_10_2022_0001_10_Miles_HiDef.ibrVelocomp_03_31_2024_0816_0_Miles_HiDef.ibr
Somehow your profile information was lost. Your unit is using the default, non-calibrated value of wind scaling. You show a constant tail wind, which is wrong. I used the Analyze/Check Calibration feature to fix your ride. Corrected files and profile attached.

One other thing: you have a pretty low CdA. Are you riding a TT bike, or perhaps you are not a tall person...

Other than the profile problem your unit seems to be operating properly.
Attachments
Speedyg_Corr_03_31_2024_0816_0_Miles_HiDef.ibr
(95.82 KiB) Downloaded 92 times
speedyg.ibp
(509 Bytes) Downloaded 100 times
Speedyg_Corr_12_10_2022_0001_10_Miles_HiDef.ibr
(394.28 KiB) Downloaded 104 times
John Hamann
Speedyg
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:35 am

Re: PP suddenly totally wonky

Post by Speedyg »

It was a loop not an out and back, so I reverted to an older profile for my Cervelo and will try that. If still wonky I'll get back to you. Thanks again, Jim
Speedyg
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:35 am

Re: PP suddenly totally wonky

Post by Speedyg »

What should the CdA be and is it measured by the Out and Back?
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 7845
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: PP suddenly totally wonky

Post by Velocomp »

Speedyg wrote: Mon Apr 01, 2024 5:50 pm What should the CdA be and is it measured by the Out and Back?
CdA is not set by o&b ride, but rather by your setup. How tall are you, and is your bike a road bike or TT bike?
John Hamann
Speedyg
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:35 am

Re: PP suddenly totally wonky

Post by Speedyg »

Velocomp wrote: Mon Apr 01, 2024 10:27 am
Speedyg wrote: Sun Mar 31, 2024 3:23 pm Looks like cadence wasn't recorded -- no idea why. Cadence meter is on and has been working fine.
If cadence isn't recorded then PS won't work.

I would check/replace the battery in your cadence sensor.
Cadence works fine and is seen on Garmin. Also Heart Rate not seen in PP either. switched HR monitors from Chest band to Fenix watch -- but that is also seen fine on the Garmin Edge 1030 as is the cadence. Do I "force a new sensor scan on PP???
Speedyg
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:35 am

Re: PP suddenly totally wonky

Post by Speedyg »

Pressed PP button this morning for 4 sec to force a re-scan for sensors and it did that I saw flashing green then green and red alternating which I knew meant I was forced to do an out and back cal ride. Did that, and for whatever reason even though PP has been doing 1 sec intervals and is set up to do power stroke, it recorded in non Hidef mode, but at least this time it did get the heart rate broadcast from my Fenix, but not the cadence even though the cadence sensor is working and seen by Garmin. I'm attaching the Garmin side screenshot and the PP Bike file as well as the screen showing the unlocked features. Please advise. Would really get back to full functionality -- but it's a good powermeter!!
Attachments
Velocomp_04_16_2024_0957_8_Miles.ibr
(90.28 KiB) Downloaded 82 times
PP Unlocked features Screenshot
PP Unlocked features Screenshot
Screen Shot 2024-04-16 at 11.00.08 AM.png (18.25 KiB) Viewed 4326 times
Garmin Screenshot
Garmin Screenshot
Screen Shot 2024-04-16 at 10.56.44 AM.png (128.98 KiB) Viewed 4326 times
Speedyg
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:35 am

Re: PP suddenly totally wonky

Post by Speedyg »

And as to CdA, I'm 5'6" 143 lb and inputted that into the current setup so that's where the CdA comes from.
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 7845
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: PP suddenly totally wonky

Post by Velocomp »

Your cadence sensor was not picked-up during the scan (0 ID).

Sorry, but you'll need to do another sensor pairing and cal ride. Make sure your cadence sensor is awake prior to pairing. When you do the pairing you should see the light flash red 3 times, indicating that your cadence sensor was picked up.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2024-04-16 at 2.32.46 PM.png
Screen Shot 2024-04-16 at 2.32.46 PM.png (176.35 KiB) Viewed 4324 times
John Hamann
Speedyg
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:35 am

Re: PP suddenly totally wonky

Post by Speedyg »

Will give it a shot tomorrow.

Thanks,

Jim
Speedyg
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:35 am

Re: PP suddenly totally wonky

Post by Speedyg »

Thought it was fixed but still not recognizing cadence sensor. Appears to have speed and HR, but when I look in Isaac (after hitting "Get from Device") all the sensors are listed as zero and not wireless enabled. But the ride data shows speed and heart rate as well as elevation and slope. I will try pairing again but this is really a drag (NPI) I've now gone through this about 5 times. Cadence seen fine on Garmin head unit.

What to do?!?
Attachments
Screen Shot 2024-06-08 at 8.44.03 AM.png
Screen Shot 2024-06-08 at 8.44.03 AM.png (108.67 KiB) Viewed 2224 times
Velocomp_06_07_2024_1323_13_Miles.ibr
(155.47 KiB) Downloaded 23 times
Screen Shot 2024-06-08 at 8.31.31 AM.png
Screen Shot 2024-06-08 at 8.31.31 AM.png (93.32 KiB) Viewed 2224 times
User avatar
lorduintah
Posts: 649
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:37 am
Location: Plymouth, MN

Re: PP suddenly totally wonky

Post by lorduintah »

On occasion I have had trouble with my Garmin Cadence sensor. My Garmin Edge bike computer still sees the Cadence sensor.

I have taken the battery out and measured a voltage of around 2.9V or a little less than that.

A fresh Li battery usually measures around 3.3V.

Replacing those batteries does the trick. I would have expected there to still be enough left in those batteries, but the evidence says otherwise.

The other option is to flip the battery over and put the cadence sensor back to gather - resetting the ANT+ ID for the sensor.
Post Reply