Cross winds and random numbers

SilasGreenback

Cross winds and random numbers

Post by SilasGreenback »

I've been using the V3 powerpod for around 6 months now and at the outset was told fit it, forget it, stop tinkering and that's where the consistency comes. Well I'm starting to notice a consistent trend in wind strength. I live on a west coast with prevailing westerlies so cannot get away from wind. Normally howling in your face with occasional stupidly depressing headwinds. But on avg F3-4 most of the time

The consistency seems to be a ride with definite tail / headwind = 200+ avg power. Rides with crosswinds are consistently lower at around 180+ avg.

After noticing the above trend I've done two rides today. one of head / tail one of mostly cross / head. This morning, constant cadence/gradient/HR and a hedge semi sheltering me. POwer was around 180 i think. Then I came to an open stretch, bike gets battered, lean into the wind, cadence/speed/gradient/HR stayed constant but as the wind picked up i watch my power drop significantly. Got to a hedge and a bit of shelter, everything constant and power steadily goes up.

Then a bit further in an open stretch with a cross wind & power steady, I could feel the wind pick up and power steadily drops till i get shletered again and it went back up.

That's completely the oppposite of what I'd expect. Later that ride, hammering through a head wind at around, turn a corner, ease off but contstant speed and power steadily climed to over 200.