Wind scaling - check calibration

gjmeer

Wind scaling - check calibration

Post by gjmeer »

I have been driving my powerpod for a few months now. A good calibration seems difficult. The watts that are displayed do not always seem to match the effort I make.

Recently done a new calibration according to the booklet. There was hardly any wind during the calibration and the sensors were found well. Before I did the calibration, I had driven a few miles, so that the powerpod could re-calibrate itself from last time. Also because I was in a place where I could perform a calibration without traffic and other crowds. In addition, the air pressure and temperature would then also become reality.

Things seemed to go well, but I doubt the wind scaling that appears. Depending on the various O&B rides of the past months, the wind scaling varies from 2.3 to 2.9. This seems very high to me when I read other comments on this forum.
In particular when there is strong wind, the watts deviate greatly. This is true with a high wind scaling, but in my opinion it does not match the effort I make.

Attached an O&B ride from yesterday about 9km. Would you like to check this? The wind was around 10km / h (6.25 m / ph) from WNW direction. The first 2 km I drove south, then 2 + km to the east. Made a turnaround and back to the starting point. Look for the map: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1BVUE7N ... sp=sharing
I have been in the same gear all the time and have kept the speed around 30 km / h.
The difference in wattage at the start of the ride compared to the end of the ride is great, without me thinking that I have supplied so much extra power

The position of my powerpod is in the middle of my front stem. Mounted on a go-pro mount for the Giant Conduct system: Like this: https://images.app.goo.gl/rhc2tPiP5uotmmzu6
My situation: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1KBMLc ... SKJjITMPAl
My body weight = 69 kg
Weight of bike & Gear = 14.5 kg
I think my CdA at 0,35 and Crr at 0,0037 are OK.