What is the best sensor and how it relates to delays in measurement.

steven.renders

What is the best sensor and how it relates to delays in measurement.

Post by steven.renders »

Hi,

I'm new to powerpod v3. Generally very happy.
I did notice that power measurement always seems to be 2 to 3 seconds behind.
Now that I'm watching that. It seems my Tacx Speed and Cadance sensor is also lacking behind.
Probably averaging a few seconds.
Now, I'm interested in a comparison of sensors and how thay relate to delay in power measurement.
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO

Re: What is the best sensor and how it relates to delays in measurement.

Post by Velocomp »

The sensors we like the best are the Garmin magnet-less sensors.

It sounds like what is going on is that your cadence sensor is delayed in reporting non-zero cadence. This would cause delay in reporting of non-zero power numbers.
John Hamann
lorduintah

Post by lorduintah »

How about turning off dynamic smoothing, too?
steven.renders

Post by steven.renders »

Where would I disable this 'dynamic smooting'?
lorduintah

Post by lorduintah »

You will need to make the change using the Isaac application. You will change the modify the profile that has been installed on the PP.

If you intend to make a change on the PP, you need to attach the PP through the USB cable to your computer.

Run Isaac, goto the Edit Menu and select Edit Profiles...

When the screen pops open, select the Advanced tab on the right.

Near the bottom of the frame is a pop-up labelled Device Power Smoothing.

If the item shows "Dynamic", then by clicking on this you can make other selections from 0 to 30 sec. (The arrows on this indicate there is a choice list that has other values available.)

If you then select one of these, that will be sent to the PP as a modified profile IF you then click SEND to Device and Accept