Not zero, but ridiculously low power readings

gbussey

Not zero, but ridiculously low power readings

Post by gbussey »

Aloha, first time poster. In general, enjoying my PP v3 but on occasion get some weird readings, leading to a couple of questions:
1. When I start up at the beginning of a ride, sometimes I get the question "calibrate?" - this last ride I said yes, to which I got the response "unclip and hit calibrate button." So I unclipped and hit the button. But no instructions on what to do next. Sit? Reclip and start pedaling? I sat for a bit, but when nothing seemed to be happening, I went and started a smooth, relatively non-stop ride. Still never got a signal that calibration was done, so eventually went back to my regular screens on my Garmin, and all seemed OK for the next 2 hours and 50 minutes or so. So what was I supposed to do?
2. After the first almost three hours, I took a break - maybe ten minutes or so? When I started riding again - into a very strong headwind - at first my power readings were reasonable, but then shot up to over 700 (I wish) and then dropped to zero to single and very low double digits, and continued seemingly random ups and downs for about 40 minutes. Eventually I'd get extended periods of decent readings but would still get periods of garbage readings. Ride factors - started on some rough road, but since I was doing an out and back - no rougher than what I'd ridden out on. #2 - Also had some rain coming down a big climb, but again, at first the readings after that were OK, and even after everything dried out, still got bizarre numbers. #3 - nothing was blocking the wind port. #4 - the wind was strong (riding in Hawaiian trade winds on a pretty breezy day) and variable, and the worst was riding directly into a headwind - but the ride data shows almost no wind? (think that is how to interpret.)
Raw July 27 2019 ride data.ibr
(994.56 KiB) Downloaded 134 times
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO