NO POWER

Post Reply
JOHN WALKER
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:17 am
Location: RYDE - NSW - AUSTRALIA

NO POWER

Post by JOHN WALKER »

The following tools:
Powerpod: S/No: 08-24-20-08-OC-B2-00-03-00-93-03-AC-7F-10-01
Bianchi set on up Cyclops fluid trainer (permanently) it has the combined, speed and cadence sensor as supplied by Velocom.
Specialized Road bike: and has the Garmin Speed / Cadence sensors.
Garmin Edge 530.

Swap the P.P. between Bianchi & Specialized, on a regular basis since, since new
For the past week: intermittently power has not been recording when riding Bianchi or Specialized.
after doing hard reset etc, power works, but dies again next day.
so repeat etc, But now the power does not display at all.
I have new batteries in all sensors.

Have followed the steps below a few times, both on the Bianchi and Specialized:>
1: Hard reset PP, by press-holding its button for about 12 seconds. It will flash, then its light will go out, then start flashing again. Release the button.
1A: Done, then shows a quick flash red/yellow, then flashes green a few times, then goes out.

2) Click PP button 5 times to turn it off.
2A: Done.

3) Awaken your speed and cadence sensors. The crank cadence sensor sometimes takes about 15 seconds to awaken.
3A: Done.

4) Look at your Garmin, spin the bike wheel and crank, and confirm that you see non-zero speed and cadence readings. If you don't see readings, then our sensors aren't working properly
4A: Done: Shows speed and cadence.

5) Assuming your sensors are working, click PP button to awaken it. What does the status light show? It should be solid red.
5A: Flashes green about 30 seconds then goes out. ( no other colour)

6) Press-hold PP button for about 4 seconds. It will start flashing green, indicating pairing. Release button
6A: Green lights flashes for over 2 minutes.
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 7525
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: NO POWER

Post by Velocomp »

It sounds like your speed sensor is not working properly.

Insert its battery backward momentarily to reset it, then put it back.
John Hamann
JOHN WALKER
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:17 am
Location: RYDE - NSW - AUSTRALIA

Re: NO POWER

Post by JOHN WALKER »

Hi John

Still having challenges: these are the steps I have repeated a few times.>

At this stage will only stay with the Bianchi which is permanently set on the Cyclops Fluid Trainer.

1: p pod ( turned on ) – connect to lap top – green connection light on
2: check latest firmware version - 8.03
3: check latest software version – 5.1.0
4: Garmin : pair speed and cadence sensors
5: p pod: reset : turn on – hold for 12 secs – light flashes after 4 secs – continue to hold until light goes out and then returns flashing – release button
6: speed sensor: reverse battery for a second, then reinstall.
7: re-check cadence is working with garmin
8: p pod / speed/cadence sensors - pair - - check working with garmin
9: p pod: new sensor pair: p pod on – hold 4 secs till light flashes, release – red light flashes 3 times – solid green –
10: p pod – turn on - connect to lap top – open isaac - edit profile – extract from device – wireless id.
11: p pod – device - set up device – ( to fine tune settings) – select 1, 2, 3 or 4 – name profile ( Bianchi or specialized ) – next – ( enter details ) – best accuracy
12: check indoor / outdoor is turned on/off.

NOTE: A: Power is now reading on Garmin Edge 530
B: at step 9 above, the green light continues to flash for over 2 minutes , then finally goes out. ( it does not show a flashing red
light.)
This would tend to indicate that it has not found the speed sensor. ???
C1: pedaled for 5 minutes after doing the above steps, but not once when the ride is then connected into Isaac is anything shown
that a ride was completed. (looking back on past indoor rides, the last time Pod was able to successfully download indoor
rides to Isaac was Sep 26th 2021.
D: When doing the indoor test rides: Power / Speed / Cadence was being displayed on the Garmin .
E: Prior to doing the test , Isaac appears to be working OK when riding on the Specialized road bike. and does download to Isaac.
F: Prior to September 26th, swapping from outdoor to indoor rides, everything was fine . But now this is not the case.


I cannot figure out what I must be doing wrong.

Best regards John
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 7525
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: NO POWER

Post by Velocomp »

Are you using a combined speed/cadence sensor?

If so, there is a bug causing your problems. We fixed that in FW 9.
John Hamann
JOHN WALKER
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:17 am
Location: RYDE - NSW - AUSTRALIA

Re: NO POWER

Post by JOHN WALKER »

Thank you John for the quick reply.

Am using a combined speed/cadence sensor on the trainer only .

I have tried a few times to update FW:> Device > Check on line for firmware Update >
Shows : recent firmware is the unit : 8.03.

going into S/N and FW Version; shows 8.03

Firmware release notes: shows: FW 8.03 - September 2021

Over to you

regards John
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 7525
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: NO POWER

Post by Velocomp »

JOHN WALKER wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 4:40 pm Thank you John for the quick reply.

Am using a combined speed/cadence sensor on the trainer only .

I have tried a few times to update FW:> Device > Check on line for firmware Update >
Shows : recent firmware is the unit : 8.03.

going into S/N and FW Version; shows 8.03

Firmware release notes: shows: FW 8.03 - September 2021

Over to you

regards John
I have sent you an email with new firmware.
John Hamann
JOHN WALKER
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:17 am
Location: RYDE - NSW - AUSTRALIA

Re: NO POWER

Post by JOHN WALKER »

Hi John

So close, we have struck a snag, had problems with opening, but now this message appears ( see attached) .

p.s. tried to email you direct, but my email with the attachment was rejected.

Regards John
Attachments
IMG_0064.JPG
IMG_0064.JPG (66.98 KiB) Viewed 2124 times
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 7525
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: NO POWER

Post by Velocomp »

Did you successfully upload the FW? Did you unzip it prior to installing it?
John Hamann
JOHN WALKER
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:17 am
Location: RYDE - NSW - AUSTRALIA

Re: NO POWER

Post by JOHN WALKER »

I believe the file has been unzipped and please see the attached,

Just thinking, would uninstalling Issac and then reinstall ?
Attachments
IMG_0068.JPG
IMG_0068.JPG (55.22 KiB) Viewed 2098 times
IMG_0066.JPG
IMG_0066.JPG (56.72 KiB) Viewed 2098 times
IMG_0065.JPG
IMG_0065.JPG (72.99 KiB) Viewed 2098 times
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 7525
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: NO POWER

Post by Velocomp »

In your screenshot the file size for the file you've highlighted is still compressed.

Place the zip file on your desktop, then double-click it to unzip it.

Load the unzipped file into Isaac.

There is no need to uninstall Isaac.
John Hamann
JOHN WALKER
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:17 am
Location: RYDE - NSW - AUSTRALIA

Re: NO POWER

Post by JOHN WALKER »

Hi John

Everything seems to be working fine since updating to version 9.

Still having problems when transferring PPV3 from road bike ( Specialized )
to trainer ( Bianchi ) and vise versa.

1: when placing PPV3 back on trainer , the power is in excess of 1000w to start with then dropped
to about 20w for the rest of the hour. . I have tried several times.

2: going from trainer to road, have to do a new out an back every time , otherwise power does not record.

Regards John
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 7525
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: NO POWER

Post by Velocomp »

JOHN WALKER wrote: Thu Mar 17, 2022 1:34 am Hi John

Everything seems to be working fine since updating to version 9.

Still having problems when transferring PPV3 from road bike ( Specialized )
to trainer ( Bianchi ) and vise versa.

1: when placing PPV3 back on trainer , the power is in excess of 1000w to start with then dropped
to about 20w for the rest of the hour. . I have tried several times.

2: going from trainer to road, have to do a new out an back every time , otherwise power does not record.

Regards John
Please post road bike and trainer files that show the problems.
John Hamann
JOHN WALKER
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:17 am
Location: RYDE - NSW - AUSTRALIA

Re: NO POWER no cadence

Post by JOHN WALKER »

Hi John

Attached photos;

1: Bianchi Trainer March 16 - note: av power for the full hour was 33w
and the next photo; see how watts start at 200w, the drop about 25.
See photo of Garmin: watts max 1600w which I did see on the Garmin screen when riding, hence why av is 71w

2: Before riding the road bike ( Specialized ) out, I did go into Issac and swap bike to road and turned off
trainer. But I had to do and out and back before watts were being recorded.
see photo: March 18: No cadence showing .
but on the photos - Garmin: cadence showing average 65 av - which is about correct for hill climbs

I have send the photos in 2 parts, as it will not allow me to attach more than 3 photos.

Regards John
Attachments
ROAD BIKE MARCH 18TH.pdf
(85.3 KiB) Downloaded 14 times
TRAINER RIDE GARMN DISPLAY MARCH 16TH.pdf
(68.01 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
ROAD BIKE GARMIN DISPLAY MARCH 18.pdf
(63.24 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
JOHN WALKER
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:17 am
Location: RYDE - NSW - AUSTRALIA

Re: NO POWER no cadence

Post by JOHN WALKER »

Hi John

second lot of photos

Regards John
Attachments
TRAINER RIDE MARCH 16TH.pdf
(66.47 KiB) Downloaded 11 times
TRAINER RIDE MARCH 16TH 2022.pdf
(83.56 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 7525
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: NO POWER

Post by Velocomp »

Please post the .ibr ride files that show the problems your photos show. I need to see the data, not pictures of the data.
John Hamann
JOHN WALKER
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:17 am
Location: RYDE - NSW - AUSTRALIA

Re: NO POWER

Post by JOHN WALKER »

Hi John

Attached IBR rides for March 16 _ trainer ride and March 18 - On road ride

Regards John
Attachments
Velocomp_03_16_2022_0824_15_km.ibr
(69.19 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
Velocomp_03_18_2022_0656_17_km.ibr
(187.1 KiB) Downloaded 14 times
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 7525
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: NO POWER

Post by Velocomp »

JOHN WALKER wrote: Sat Mar 19, 2022 2:00 pm Hi John

Attached IBR rides for March 16 _ trainer ride and March 18 - On road ride

Regards John
1) It looks like the 3/16 ride was not recorded in indoor trainer mode. That explains the very low watt average, and the high watts at the beginning.

Also, your cadence data is very unstable. It looks like you're using a combined speed/cadence sensor, which functioned properly only near the end of your ride

2) The 3/18 ride is missing cadence data because a cadence sensor was not paired to your unit. Otherwise the ride file looks normal.
John Hamann
JOHN WALKER
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:17 am
Location: RYDE - NSW - AUSTRALIA

POWER CAOTIC

Post by JOHN WALKER »

Hi John

Still having problems.

1: I have tried several things to make this work> I have ended up resorting to " Better Accuracy" but this has not made any difference.

2: Power pod appears to work OK when on the road - attached last ride May 2nd. when in Better Accuracy .

3: P.P. wants to do an out and back when I was in Best Accuracy - and going from trainer to on road.

4: May 4th : P.P. is all over the shop in power recording when on trainer - see attached recordings from Garmin
P.P. when downloading trainer rides - message - "There are no new rides to save ."
This has been the case since late last year.

5: Up to late last year, I use to be able to go from trainer to on road and vise verse, without having to do a new out an back rides each time and everything was working fine.

I am at a lost at what to do, I seem to be spending more time trying to make PP work properly than I do riding.

Hope you can solve this matter

Regards John
Attachments
Velocomp_05_02_2022_0625_23_km.ibr
OUT ON ROAD RIDE MAY 2ND
(234.18 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
TRAINER RIDE MAY 4TH
TRAINER RIDE MAY 4TH
IMG_0573.JPG (48.87 KiB) Viewed 384 times
TRTAINER RIDE MAY 4TH
TRTAINER RIDE MAY 4TH
IMG_0572.JPG (37.1 KiB) Viewed 384 times
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 7525
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: NO POWER

Post by Velocomp »

You should also have a .ibr ride file from your May 4 trainer ride. Please post it.
John Hamann
JOHN WALKER
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:17 am
Location: RYDE - NSW - AUSTRALIA

Re: NO POWER

Post by JOHN WALKER »

Hi John

Sorry, I did not make it very clear.

Any ride on the trainer ( Bianchi - set in trainer on - ) is not being recorded and that has been the case for a few months.
attached are the rides , but is only showing rides done on the road.

Regards John
Attachments
rides done
rides done
IMG_0574 (002).JPG (64.26 KiB) Viewed 364 times
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 7525
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: NO POWER

Post by Velocomp »

Hmm...there is no reason I am aware of that would prohibit ride file recording with trainer mode on. I will investigate.
John Hamann
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 7525
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: NO POWER

Post by Velocomp »

Here is what I did:

0) I am using FW 9.01, the latest available

1) I copied my outdoor road bike profile 3 into an empty profile (profile 1). I did this so I would not accidentally screw-up my road bike profile

2) I made profile 1 active

3) I used this command to make indoor trainer mode active in profile 1
Screen Shot 2022-05-10 at 8.37.43 AM.png
Screen Shot 2022-05-10 at 8.37.43 AM.png (86.19 KiB) Viewed 285 times
4) I did a short ride and downloaded it.

As expected, my ride was recorded in my unit, and when downloaded it was recorded, correctly, as an indoor trainer ride.

As best as I can tell everything is working properly.

When you use PP with your indoor trainer, make sure the light shows solid green. If it flashes green, then your speed/cadence sensor is not communicating with PP.
John Hamann
JOHN WALKER
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:17 am
Location: RYDE - NSW - AUSTRALIA

Re: NO POWER

Post by JOHN WALKER »

Thank you heaps John. all working now.

Will let you know, how I go with an actual road ride......... once the rain stops.... but this appears to be no time soon.

Enjoy the ride of life.

John :D
Post Reply