Newton+6 cannot connect to PC

Post Reply
Stephan71
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2019 7:41 pm

Newton+6 cannot connect to PC

Post by Stephan71 » Sun Mar 24, 2019 11:58 am

After not using my Newton +6 and its battery went dead I cannot connect it to my PC (Windows 10)

The Newton sat untouched in a desk drawer for a couple of weeks, and before the battery went dead everything was alright. So there could not have been any damage to the USB port.
Full recharge was no problem, and the device works perfectly on the bike.
The only thing that does not work is that my PC does not recognize the Newton, so I cannot download anything from the Newton or change any settings on the Newton via Isaac.
I already sent a equest to Velocomp, they advised to re-install the appropriate drivers and sent my me the related links.
I made absolutely sure all anti-virus software, firewall etc. were disabled before I downloaded and installed everything, also updating to the latest version of Isaac in the process.

Nothing changed, Windows does not recognize the Newton, neither does Isaac.
So what can be done to connect my PC/Isaac with my Newton?
Thanks for the help.

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 6251
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: Newton+6 cannot connect to PC

Post by Velocomp » Sun Mar 24, 2019 9:27 pm

Did your Newton work previously with your Windows machine? If so, your USB cable may have gone bad.
John Hamann

Stephan71
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2019 7:41 pm

Re: Newton+6 cannot connect to PC

Post by Stephan71 » Thu Apr 25, 2019 8:10 am

Thanks for the reply.
And yes, it did work previously. I tried to connect with three different cables. Connecting my Android phone to the PC works with all of these cables, as does charging the Newton. The only thing that does not work is the PC recognizing the Newton. So what can it be?

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 6251
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: Newton+6 cannot connect to PC

Post by Velocomp » Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:49 pm

If your Newton worked before with your computer, and your cables are good, then something has changed on your computer--perhaps you installed a new device, such as Garmin?

You can try installing the latest version of Isaac (version 5.01), which is available from our website https://velocomp.com/isaac-software-installation/. Other than that, I don't have any additional advice.
John Hamann

Post Reply