Help me with Display contrast please!!

Post Reply
Zoltan
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:47 am
Location: HUNGARY

Help me with Display contrast please!!

Post by Zoltan » Wed May 09, 2018 12:48 pm

Before I upgraded my Newton+ from firmrware 4.x to 5.x I could set the contrast of the display. From the manual of OS 4.13 and higher:

"Set Display Contrast: LCD"

I have now a Newton+ 5, quite a long while, but it was only yesterday when I wanted to change the contrast. I could not find it neither in the menu of my Newton+, nor in Isaac. I checked the manuals of both Newton+ and Isaac, but could not find it.

Please guide me how I can set the contrast.

Thanks a lot,

zoltan

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 5355
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:43 am

Re: Help me with Display contrast please!!

Post by Velocomp » Thu May 10, 2018 6:01 am

Display contrast has been eliminated.
John Hamann

Zoltan
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:47 am
Location: HUNGARY

Re: Help me with Display contrast please!!

Post by Zoltan » Thu May 10, 2018 6:18 am

Is there any way to rollback the fw? I mean to install the OS 4.x to my Newton+ which now has 5.x?

I'd really appreciate if I could get back this feature, which was available for a long long time for the users.
Last edited by Zoltan on Thu May 10, 2018 7:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Zoltan
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:47 am
Location: HUNGARY

Re: Help me with Display contrast please!!

Post by Zoltan » Thu May 10, 2018 7:58 am

And can you please disclose which is the last OS verion of Newton, which did stil include the "Display contrast" option?

Because the change log (release notes) does not refer to it all. FYKI my source is http://www.ibikesports.com/iBike_update ... 0Notes.pdf. Meaning that I got no warning at the time of firmware update that I would lose this option if I go ahead with the update.

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 5355
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:43 am

Re: Help me with Display contrast please!!

Post by Velocomp » Thu May 10, 2018 6:29 pm

We ceased production of Newton in 2015, and we have not updated firmware since then.

We can provide you version 4 of FW, which I believe has the contrast option, but understand that if you load FW 4.x, you will lose all the improvements made in FW 5.
John Hamann

Zoltan
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:47 am
Location: HUNGARY

Re: Help me with Display contrast please!!

Post by Zoltan » Fri May 11, 2018 1:32 am

Yes, please provide the version which still has the display contrast option. Thank you for your kindness. What do I have to do to install an earlier version of the firmware?

For the time being I think that it will cause no problem for me to lose the improvements of FW 5, but it may happen in a while that I will need some of those again. Therefore let me ask whether Newton with FW 5 simply keeps the latest level of contrast set in FW 4 or there is a predefined level of the contrast which is used by FW 5 independently fro mwhat what was earlier set in FW 4?

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 5355
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:43 am

Re: Help me with Display contrast please!!

Post by Velocomp » Fri May 11, 2018 6:26 am

Private email sent.

FW 5 holds contrast level at "15".
John Hamann

Zoltan
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:47 am
Location: HUNGARY

Re: Help me with Display contrast please!!

Post by Zoltan » Fri May 11, 2018 6:31 am

Something may be wrong with the forum engine. I received no private emails.

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 5355
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:43 am

Re: Help me with Display contrast please!!

Post by Velocomp » Fri May 11, 2018 7:06 am

It was sent separately, not through the forum.
John Hamann

Zoltan
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:47 am
Location: HUNGARY

Re: Help me with Display contrast please!!

Post by Zoltan » Fri May 11, 2018 7:13 am

Indeed. I got it, for some reason my mobile did not synchronize my gmail box.

Thanks

Zoltan
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:47 am
Location: HUNGARY

Re: Help me with Display contrast please!!

Post by Zoltan » Tue May 15, 2018 1:57 am

I already did the rollback and set the display contrast. It worked for me, so now I do not have to fully sit up in the seat of my recumbent to catch te numbers on the display. Thanks a lot for the help.

Post Reply