new Garmin inertial cadence sensor signal

Post Reply
ronpei
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2013 7:47 am

new Garmin inertial cadence sensor signal

Post by ronpei »

here is a bit of an interesting dilemma, I was told by Garmin that the new Garmin Inertial cadence sensor does not send the signal out at a specific point in the revolution, ie the 3 o'clock position, but rather only when it has performed 1 complete revolution depending upon where it woke up from, which can be anywhere on the cycle. How will this screw up the powerstroke calculations? it is no longer an issue of above or below the chainstay..... so if this is you maybe you have to position your crank arm at the 3 o'clock position and let the sensor go to sleep, if you want the powerstroke calculations to work properly.

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 6597
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: new Garmin inertial cadence sensor signal

Post by Velocomp »

If this is what Garmin does, then this sensor won't provide the needed information to PowerStroke.

We can measure with high precision the location of the cadence sensor based on the timing of the signals. In a conventional sensor the timing is based on the location of the cadence sensor and magnet. If that location is not known, as appears to be the case with the Garmin (Velocomputer) sensor, then it is not useful.
John Hamann

ronpei
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2013 7:47 am

Re: new Garmin inertial cadence sensor signal

Post by ronpei »

to quote garmin: "Thank you for contacting Garmin International. I am happy to help.

The new cadence sensor will send out the signal at the end of each complete revolution, so it depends on where it started. The old GSC-10 sends out the signal when the magnet passes the main body of the sensor."

so it works in other respects just fine and might work for power stroke if you awaken it at the right starting place, that is what I gather from the response.

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 6597
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: new Garmin inertial cadence sensor signal

Post by Velocomp »

If you start it from the same place then it would work.
John Hamann

ronpei
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2013 7:47 am

Re: new Garmin inertial cadence sensor signal

Post by ronpei »

quoe from garmin support regarding the new inertial cadence sensor:"if you started the rotation at 3:00 the rotation would end at 3:00. It all depends on where you begin the rotation." so if you put it away or let it go to sleep at the same location as your typical cadence sensor hen it should work fine.

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 6597
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: new Garmin inertial cadence sensor signal

Post by Velocomp »

agreed
John Hamann

TuRu00
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 9:34 am

Re: new Garmin inertial cadence sensor signal

Post by TuRu00 »

Hello!

Ia recently bought a Power Stroke license and I made a ride with a *new* magnetless cadence sensor.

I read this post but still not clear for me... What is the trick to work with this kind of sensors? What configuration must to be done in Issac and PowerPod?

Attached my last ride with this sensor. Is the PowerStroke data corrupted for misconfiguration?

Thanks!
Attachments
iBike_05_13_2017_0915_93_km_HiDef.ibr
(2.18 MiB) Downloaded 104 times

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 6597
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: new Garmin inertial cadence sensor signal

Post by Velocomp »

Your PowerStroke is about perfect!!!

Nothing is corrupted.
John Hamann

Post Reply