Comparing 2 profiles - How do they look?

megamax

Comparing 2 profiles - How do they look?

Post by megamax »

Hello,

I'm fairly new to using the iBike, and I'm looking for some feedback on how two profiles I have created for different bikes stack up. Both calibration ride and coast downs were done in the exact same location, with today (tri profile) being a tad bit windier then the road profile. The road itself is probably a 7 out of 10 in terms of smoothness. Not glassy, but not chip seal either. I have attached screen shots of the calibration screen for reference.

The first profile is for my road bike. My iBike is mounted on the stem, and I have a moderate position and ride on the hoods, running Vittoria Diamante's Pro's. My only reference in terms of power is riding a computrainer for the last five years. Based on that, PE, etc., I think this profile is pretty darn good. This is only perception, but wattage seems to line up as I would expect.

Last week I got my RWS and decided to setup my tri bike. The iBike is on the stem with the RWS run straight out of the bottom of the aero bars. I have a race this weekend and was very interested in capturing data, so I headed out to calibrate, even though winds were 5-10. I have a decent position on the tri bike, not super low, but not bad. I had my aero helmet, and race wheels (zipp 404's with Michelin Pro race 3) since I was going for a race profile. I don't have a ride to apply this profile to since I had just put the iBike on this bike.

So my questions are:
- How do the numbers compare? I really don't know what they all mean, but FRIC and CRR seem to be farther apart then I would have thought. For the road profile, FRIC is 5.829 and CRR is .0035 and for the Tri profile FRIC is 2.122 and CRR is .0017.
- CDA is .326 on the tri and .377 on the road. Is this what you would expect based on the additional aero gains?