How to install Isaac on an M1 Mac (or Intel Mac running MacOS 11 or 12)

Post Reply
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 7585
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

How to install Isaac on an M1 Mac (or Intel Mac running MacOS 11 or 12)

Post by Velocomp »

NOTE: IF YOU WANT TO INSTALL ISAAC/MAC ON AN "INTEL" MAC, GO TO THIS LINK:

https://velocompforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=5318

INSTRUCTIONS UPDATED 4/3/22, WITH A SMALL TROUBLESHOOTING SECTION

Yes, the install is a bit cumbersome. Yes, you'll have to read and follow the instructions. Yes, it will take time (only once, fortunately) to do this installation.

But, damn it all, it works, and it's free!

Although the instructions are written for M1 Macs, this workaround also works with Intel Macs running macOS 11 and 12 (neither of which allow Isaac/Mac to run).

You're not going to get the super-fast operation you get on a native Isaac app, but I find its speed to be tolerable, and everything works!

Special thanks to Velocomp user Paul Worrell, who made us aware of this possibility!
Attachments
How to install Isaac on an M1 Mac040322_RED.pdf
(3.88 MiB) Downloaded 426 times
Screen Shot 2022-04-02 at 5.42.01 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-04-02 at 5.42.01 PM.png (361.43 KiB) Viewed 4843 times
John Hamann
kurt
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 1:58 am

Re: How to install Isaac on an M1 Mac (or Intel Mac running MacOS 11 or 12)

Post by kurt »

hello, I installed the Isaac software on my iMac and it everything looked ok. I can make contact with the powerpod v3.
Nevertheless when I tried to download a ride, I got an error message.
See picture

What can I do?
thanks
kurt
Attachments
Schermafbeelding 2022-09-22 om 17.03.01.png
Schermafbeelding 2022-09-22 om 17.03.01.png (287.95 KiB) Viewed 1148 times
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 7585
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: How to install Isaac on an M1 Mac (or Intel Mac running MacOS 11 or 12)

Post by Velocomp »

Try another download.

If that does not succeed then it looks like the file structure in your PP has been corrupted. You will need to erase your ride files with the Device/Erase All Ride Files command, then do new rides.
John Hamann
kurt
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 1:58 am

Re: How to install Isaac on an M1 Mac (or Intel Mac running MacOS 11 or 12)

Post by kurt »

Hello,

I tried on my windows pc and there it was not a problem. I will try again and I will inform you.

Best regards

Kurt
kurt
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 1:58 am

Re: How to install Isaac on an M1 Mac (or Intel Mac running MacOS 11 or 12)

Post by kurt »

Hello,
I have errased all the data and afterwards I have done a 2,5 km trip. On my bike computer everything seems normal.
I did succeed to download a file but nothing is in it.

See ibr file in attachment

Best regards

Kurt
Attachments
Velocomp_09_24_2022_1640_2_km_HiDef.ibr
(2 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 7585
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: How to install Isaac on an M1 Mac (or Intel Mac running MacOS 11 or 12)

Post by Velocomp »

Just checking: are you using an M1 Mac?

Try downloading there same file in your PC.
John Hamann
kurt
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 1:58 am

Re: How to install Isaac on an M1 Mac (or Intel Mac running MacOS 11 or 12)

Post by kurt »

hello,

this is the file downloaded from mu windowns pc.
The mac has a intel processor.

The PC download looks fine. Try again the same file from the Mac.
Attachments
Velocomp_09_24_2022_1640_2_km_HiDef.ibr
(70.16 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
kurt
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 1:58 am

Re: How to install Isaac on an M1 Mac (or Intel Mac running MacOS 11 or 12)

Post by kurt »

Does anyone has an idea?

Thanks

Kurt
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 7585
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: How to install Isaac on an M1 Mac (or Intel Mac running MacOS 11 or 12)

Post by Velocomp »

kurt wrote: Wed Sep 28, 2022 11:04 am Does anyone has an idea?

Thanks

Kurt
Please attach your PowerPod to your Mac, and try downloading the same file as you downloaded on your PC. Please post the downloaded Mac file...
John Hamann
kurt
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 1:58 am

Re: How to install Isaac on an M1 Mac (or Intel Mac running MacOS 11 or 12)

Post by kurt »

hello,

I already erased the data on my powerpod. However I did try it. The file I got from my Imac you find 2 post above the post of the file of my windows pc.
This weekend I will do another ride. I will keep you up to date.

Kurt
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 7585
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: How to install Isaac on an M1 Mac (or Intel Mac running MacOS 11 or 12)

Post by Velocomp »

kurt wrote: Thu Sep 29, 2022 6:06 pm hello,

I already erased the data on my powerpod. However I did try it. The file I got from my Imac you find 2 post above the post of the file of my windows pc.
This weekend I will do another ride. I will keep you up to date.

Kurt
OK. Sometimes if the ride doesn't download correctly, the second time works...
John Hamann
kurt
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 1:58 am

Re: How to install Isaac on an M1 Mac (or Intel Mac running MacOS 11 or 12)

Post by kurt »

Hello,

I did a 74 km ride. The download worked on my windows pc but not on my imac. I got the following error ( see attachment). Did I do something wrong with the installation
Attachments
Schermafbeelding 2022-10-04 om 16.31.34.png
Schermafbeelding 2022-10-04 om 16.31.34.png (144.44 KiB) Viewed 894 times
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 7585
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: How to install Isaac on an M1 Mac (or Intel Mac running MacOS 11 or 12)

Post by Velocomp »

Try downloading your ride file on your Mac one more time.

If that doesn't work then reinstall the NI and SiLabs drivers. Make sure you follow the installation instructions exactly.
John Hamann
kurt
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 1:58 am

Re: How to install Isaac on an M1 Mac (or Intel Mac running MacOS 11 or 12)

Post by kurt »

Hello,

The download doesn't work.
Do I have to remove the NI and Silab drivers and Isaac software first before reinstalling?
If so, how do I do this?

Sorry but I am not a mac-specialist

Thanks

Kurt
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 7585
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: How to install Isaac on an M1 Mac (or Intel Mac running MacOS 11 or 12)

Post by Velocomp »

kurt wrote: Wed Oct 05, 2022 3:57 am Hello,

The download doesn't work.
Do I have to remove the NI and Silab drivers and Isaac software first before reinstalling?
If so, how do I do this?

Sorry but I am not a mac-specialist

Thanks

Kurt
Try a new installation, without removing the old drivers. If that doesn't work let me know and I will give you the process for uninstalling the existing drivers.
John Hamann
kurt
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 1:58 am

Re: How to install Isaac on an M1 Mac (or Intel Mac running MacOS 11 or 12)

Post by kurt »

Hello,

I reinstalled the drivers but I don't think it has worked. You can find the 2 files (windows and Imac).

What will we try next? Removing the drivers and reinstalling them?

Thanks

Kurt
Attachments
Velocomp_10_06_2022_0823_74_km_HiDef_windows.ibr
(2.12 MiB) Downloaded 10 times
Velocomp_10_06_2022_0823_74_km_HiDef_Imac.ibr
(2.01 KiB) Downloaded 11 times
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 7585
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: How to install Isaac on an M1 Mac (or Intel Mac running MacOS 11 or 12)

Post by Velocomp »

kurt wrote: Thu Oct 06, 2022 12:58 pm Hello,

I reinstalled the drivers but I don't think it has worked. You can find the 2 files (windows and Imac).

What will we try next? Removing the drivers and reinstalling them?

Thanks

Kurt
Please post your comments on this thread:

https://velocompforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=5318

This thread is for M1 Macs; you have an Intel Mac. I will reply to you on the Intel Mac thread.
John Hamann
Post Reply