Question about Isaac's data reporting

Post Reply
BillOsler
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 10:10 am

Question about Isaac's data reporting

Post by BillOsler » Tue Apr 30, 2019 7:08 pm

When viewing data from my Aeropod in Isaac for Windows 5.0.1 one of the statistics that is reported is the ambient pressure in mBarrs (or hPa if you prefer). Today Isaac reported a pressure of 1026 mbar at a mean elevation of 726 feet.
A barometer reported an uncorrected ambient pressure of 998 mbar.
Does this mean that Isaac is reporting the estimated sea level pressure rather than the measured ambient pressure?

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 5951
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: Question about Isaac's data reporting

Post by Velocomp » Thu May 02, 2019 5:45 pm

I don't know :-(
John Hamann

BillOsler
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 10:10 am

Re: Question about Isaac's data reporting

Post by BillOsler » Sun May 05, 2019 2:00 pm

Velocomp wrote:
Thu May 02, 2019 5:45 pm
I don't know :-(
It seems to me that it would be important to know what pressure is being reported when working with aerodynamics.

Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
Posts: 5951
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: Question about Isaac's data reporting

Post by Velocomp » Sun May 05, 2019 2:09 pm

AeroPod internal calculations are correct. They are done in real-time with correct data, including aero pressure (as needed).

What I was reporting is that I do not know what baro data is being exported into the ride file, nor do I know how Isaac re-creates the CdA data.
John Hamann

Post Reply