new purchase help

Roubaixalltheway

new purchase help

Post by Roubaixalltheway »

I'm a newbie and looking to purchase an ibike computer. I have had Polars but give up on getting stable power info. I'd like to know what the iAero gets you vs. the iPro Gen III and is it worth the extra cost. Also, where is the best place to buy the computer? Thanks!!
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO

Re: new purchase help

Post by Velocomp »

The iAero has the following standard features over and above the iPro:

1) complete wireless setup is standard (wireless is a $269 option with the iPro)

2) indoor trainer is now standard ($39 option with the iPro)

3) ability to see aerodynamic drag (CdA) whenever you're not pedaling

4) ability to use an (OPTIONAL, NOT INCLUDED) wireless direct force power meter (DFPM) to see CdA even when pedaling

5) with an optional DFPM, the ability to see Time Advantage, the amount of time you gain or lose due to changes in riding position

The iAero is a $100 premium over the wireless iPro.

You can order from the iBike Store (www.ibikesports.com) or have your dealer order it and install it for you.
John Hamann
Roubaixalltheway

I received my new iPro wireless and it is an incredible unit! I'm very impressed.

A few items of note.

First, the batteries supplied with the units were almost dead. I had to replace two of them to get the wireless to connect after several attempts with the dreaded wireless fail message. The other two are ok, but low at 2.8 volts. I guess I will need to change them soon too.

Second, I did not receive a cadence magnet with the kit.

Lastly, after doing a ride and downloading the data, the unit does not seem to go to sleep. It did before I got all the calibrations in and ride data which I have since uploaded and deleted.

(One more shameless plug for HR as a % of max :)

George
lorduintah

Post by lorduintah »

To put the unit to sleep - go to the set up and battery display - press the center button - this should shut the system off.