Is my PowerMeter calibrated? Feels like too low power.

SomeDude

Is my PowerMeter calibrated? Feels like too low power.

Post by SomeDude »

HI all,
Just recently got the powerpod v3.
Was able to ride 3 10mile rides after doing out and back calibration.
However, I fell like my power is showing too low, specially when there is a head / side wind. I could feel the power in my legs as I struggled to maintain speed in head wind but it continued to show my power as 0. Since this is my first power meter and I have never used any other I have no basis to say either its accurate or not.
I use Garmin Speed and Cadence Sensor 2.
Also, have paired this with my Garmin Fenix 6. My average heart rate during the ride was 155bpm.
As I am new to this and Isaac, not sure where to look for what - just want to make sure the powermeter is calibrated accurately.

My bike is 2020 Giant Contend AR 1 with 700x32 tubeless tires.
I am 205lbs 5'7" / 93Kg 170cm.

Attaching one of my ride data along with the pictures of how I have this mounted on my bike - to get your expert knowledge if everything is setup accurately.
Attachments
1.jpeg
1.jpeg (106.92 KiB) Viewed 3509 times
3.jpeg
3.jpeg (94.47 KiB) Viewed 3509 times
Velocomp_01_29_2021_1559_11_Miles.ibr
(273.92 KiB) Downloaded 129 times
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO

Re: Is my PowerMeter calibrated? Feels like too low power.

Post by Velocomp »

Your ride file shows you riding in very strong headwinds and tailwinds. In this situation it is difficult to tell if your V3 is properly calibrated, though I don't see any obvious problem in your profile settings.

I suggest you attach your HR strap to your body, then do a new sensor pairing (press-hold button for 4 seconds to initiate). You'll have to then do a new cal ride, but after that you should also have HR data in your ride file. Please post another file after doing the new calibration.