Please Check Calibration and Ride Files

NickBean

Please Check Calibration and Ride Files

Post by NickBean »

Hi John,

I’ve been using my PowerPod on two different road bikes for the last 11 months or so. Based on the O&B calibration rides for each bike (see attached files dated 2 July 2017 & 15 July 2017), I’ve always assumed that the power data recorded by my PowerPod, in particular the average power, has been accurate for my subsequent solo training rides.

However, having recently analysed some of my training rides using Issac’s “Check Calibration” function, I’m not sure if the average power recorded by my PowerPod is accurate for some rides. There are a few rides I have checked where the “Calibration Changes” / “Significance of Profile Change” has been reported as “Significant” (e.g. see attached file dated 8 July 2017). If I have correctly understood this information, the recorded average power for this particular ride is 63 W higher than it should be. There are other ride files I have checked (which I am not able to attach due to the 3 files limit) where the recorded average power is around 30 W higher than it should be.

As I have yet to make any changes to the profiles for each of my bikes, I would be grateful if you could please suggest any profile changes (or other changes) that I should make in order for the average power readings recorded by my PowerPod to be more accurate for future rides.

I am fairly certain that when switching my PowerPod between bikes, the position of my PowerPod has remained constant (i.e. PowerPod logo parallel to the ground, no cables interfering with the wind port, thumb screw sufficiently tightened to prevent PowerPod moving etc.). None of the files I have checked show any recalibration during the first 8 minutes of a ride.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Regards,

Nick Bean
Attachments
iBike_07_02_2017_1627_3_Miles_CalRide.ibr
(43.11 KiB) Downloaded 166 times
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO