How do I get more efficient?

Etupes25

How do I get more efficient?

Post by Etupes25 »

So, great! I can see the bike unnecessary movement, the lack of efficiency of the turning of the cranks.
I don't know what do to about it, though.
Does somebody has some advice on how to get better at this?
iBike_03_08_2018_1625_24_Miles_HiDef.ibr
(814.94 KiB) Downloaded 416 times
Luis

Re: How do I get more efficient?

Post by Luis »

Looks like you haven't got much traction on your question. I am new to PowerPod and PowerStroke but I have spent a good part of my life doing data analysis. The file you uploaded is rather interesting. You have a lot of raw power. I tried to view sections of your ride. If Isaac shows the powerstroke for just the sections I highlighted your pedal stroke is remarkable constant.What is was hoping to do is to see how you were on uphill v. downhill. Side to side motion is often high on climbs, but it looked the same on the back side of the slope.

I was surprised at how round my pedaling is after I got the PowerPod. The forestroke of each foot is nearly in the green and one the upstroke as well with a little outside the green at the top. I am not bragging you have great power numbers.

My suggestion for you is to work on smoothing out your pedaling maybe do some high cadence drills on the flats on calm days if possible. Don't try to grind big gears but work the small gears. If you can spin a bit above 100 rpm smoothly shift to a higher gear keeping the same cadence. If your hips are bouncing you may have a fit problem or just saddle height.

I don't know how old you are. I am 68 and fit has to be just right. When younger I didn't worry about it much, but I would've been a better cyclist with proper fit. Now if the fit is off I may cripple myself.