Big difference when route analysed

gerrard

Big difference when route analysed

Post by gerrard »

Went on a solo 3.5h ride today - aiming for fairly steady intensity. Route had one very long climb but at a minor gradient.

I was tired and it felt hard to produce watts when watching the ibike. I came home, downloaded the ride, analysed route, and got what I think is a substantially different result. NP went from 178w to 202w. And other associated metrics changed too.

When I did the "analyse route" it detected 7.5% drafting when there was none. I often get 2% ish detected but this is quite a difference considering it was a relatively calm day. It did start to rain from about the 2/3rd point. Would this have affected the numbers to such a degree? How would I know?

I've been using the ibike for a few months now and am really valuing what I learn from it, but constant unknown things like this make it really hard for me to have confidence when I'm out there using it. In this case I was using IF to try and understand my Ironman pacing, but being out by such a big number makes it of no use at all!

Any help appreciated.

Thanks
Gerrard

Ride file attached
Attachments
2011_06_11_0757.csv
(2.84 MiB) Downloaded 270 times
racerfern

Re: Big difference when route analysed

Post by racerfern »

I shy away from having the software do an analysis mainly because I'm careful about starting out with a good wind cal, temp adjustment and tilt. IMO the route analysis is awesome for salvaging a ride that has any kind of issues but for the most part I keep everything unchecked except for entering the known elevation. I always enter my starting and ending elevation.

With that process, your before and after numbers are nearly identical although I think your wind is low for what is somewhat an out/back ride.