Dash: Pros and Cons

pherselman

Dash: Pros and Cons

Post by pherselman »

I have been using the dash for a few months now, overall like it, much easier to use than my IPro. I made a list of pros and cons, might be missing some stuff listed on cons but no manual yet:

Pros:
Color coded zones
Customised screens
Easier to read
Always have my phone with me

Cons:
No trainer mode yet. It is indoor training time now, and I can't use my WKO and power workouts. This is one of the main reasons I switched early, and I think the website is misleading, stating that indoor trainer is enabled.
No cumulative data as in IPRO.
Unable to build custom workouts
Touch screen scratches easily, and seems to lose sensitivity halfway through ride( unable to get options menu or switch screens)
Steering tube mount works itself loose, need to be tightened down which then affects steerer tube play

The cons can easily be fixed, I guess it is the price to pay for early adopters, think the dash has huge potential, just not there yet
racerfern

Re: Dash: Pros and Cons

Post by racerfern »

I'm most concerned about your steerer tube problem. I've never seen any head tube screw come loose so I think something else may be going on here. Do you have enough spacers to clear the top of the steerer tube? Is the screw bottoming out against something and not allowing the mount to tighten down. What you're describing is something that needs to be solved.

Finally, just to make sure, you should be tightening the steerer tube screw prior to tightening the screw(s) that bind the stem onto the steerer tube itself.

I've seen some lack of sensitivity part way through a long ride (both from the touch screen and from my wife) but this was in the beta version. Have you designed your own custom screens and if so what data do they contain?
Fernando
pherselman

Post by pherselman »