TT Profile #'s. Do they look correct?

Chainring

TT Profile #'s. Do they look correct?

Post by Chainring »

I'm a newbie with this thing and i want it to be a useful tool. I did 10 coast downs today followed by a cal ride of about 5 miles. i did this to establish a "Race" profile for time trialing, so I had on my skin suit and aero helmet. Was carrying no tool, etc... Here are the numbers I got for the profile

0.147 Aero
0.599 Wind Scaling
0.246 CdA
5.553 Fric
-0.1 Riding Tilt
0.0047 Crr
208 Total Weight

Do these seem accurate? Similar to any other rider my size? It has been unusually windy and cool so far this spring, so it has been difficult fiding the optimal day. Also, the place where I did this ride was at the state park where I do the time trial series and the roads are a bit rough in spots. Not sure how much that matters. Also... I run 700/20 tires at 130psi.

Much appreciated,
~Steve
racerfern

Re: TT Profile #'s. Do they look correct?

Post by racerfern »

Without seeing how you look on a bike it's hard to really judge. However, your setup and numbers seem to be spot on for the "average" TT. I suppose you could say your CdA is a tad low for a guy who weighs about 185lb, but I wouldn't fret over it.

Consistency is the key so Run, er Ride with it!

Good luck in your TT series.
Fernando
rruff

Post by rruff »

Like Fernando said, your CdA could be a little low, but the rest looks fine. If you are extremely aero the CdA might be fine too.
Morocco Mole

Post by Morocco Mole »

Where is your iBike Mounted, are you using the RWS? Any pics, I'm always interested in seeing others TT Setups.

Cheers
Jim
Chainring

Post by Chainring »

Thanks for the replies. I think I'm pretty darn aero, but I'm not running a disc in the rear or deep dish in the front. Just running the 40mm aero wheels you see in the picture. I'm racing a TT tonight, so I'm going to run this profile and see what the numbers look like when I'm done.